We've reached the point during Chanukah where I muse about converting. Not due to doctrine. I just figure christians have the right idea, getting the whole shebang over with in one day.
Eight nights is killing me. I try to spread gifts from family across the holiday, but I do make sure there's one for each night. So I go overboard. Compensating for the fact that our son is the token Jew in his class. It's my fault, really.
Still, it drives me mad when no sooner have they unwrapped the night's gift than they are asking what's next? Who's gift do we open tomorrow? Then when we're all done our son whines because we don't celebrate Christmas. I explain they'd get far less booty if we did, and I get frustrated with the greedy little monsters I've created. They do say "thank you" and genuinely like this year's haul. Thank heaven, because there's no way in hell I'm up for the Eucharist.
No comments:
Post a Comment